Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Corvettes and all things about them

Comments

• Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright CaliforniaPosts: 45,013
    Well I'm not a Corvette expert but I have driven the various models. For "bang for the buck" you can't beat a C4 since this would cost you 1/2 of a C5...but the C5 is certainly a more advanced and more competent car and still under your $15K budget. The later C4s didn't ride as hard. I guess it depends on what taste you have in looks and how fast you want to go!

On the C3s, as time went on they got worse and worse, unlike all the other Corvette generations which got better and better.

MODERATOR --Need help with anything? Click on my name!

• bhill2bhill2 Posts: 1,357
    I have no personal experience with the C4s, but I know they were considered pretty good in their time. I did a little research on them and found the following major changes during their years of production:

1) In 1989 the dreaded 4+3 transmission was replaced with a true 6-speed.
    2) In 1992 the engine was bumped from 245 to 300 hp.

There were, of course, other changes over the years but those are the ones I would consider deal changers, especially the first one since I have heard nothing good about that 4+3 transmission (which involved having a separate overdrive that operated on gears 2 through 4, usually at the wrong time.)

The C5 debuted in 1997 and ran with only incremental improvements through 2004, so you may indeed find some good deals there. In any case, good hunting.

2009 BMW 335i, 2003 Corvette cnv, 2001 Jaguar XK cnv, 1985 MB 380SE (the best of the lot)

• starrow68starrow68 Posts: 1,142
    Hope you decide to go with the C5 over the C4, I got my '02 and after trying to
    keep mileage low driving my prior daily driver, I just couldn't face the old car
    any longer. So to keep miles low I got a '95 with very low miles and drove it