Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Oldsmobile Aurora: Acceleration

1234568

Comments

  • The video clip worked for me. FANTASTIC! Thanks for posting it.

    Les
  • rjs200240rjs200240 Posts: 1,277
    Try right-clicking at selecting "save target as" then play it from your desktop. But it's an mpeg, so it ought to play ok. Maybe try installing a newer Quicktime plugin?
  • Worked for me. Awesome stuff... God you make me want an exhaust so bad!

    Makes me want to head to the track too. What's your elevation there? Thinking at my sea-level conditions at about 70 degrees at night, would be close to optimal. Maybe a little bit colder.

    On the fifth time I watched the clip, I can't believe how remarkably close your car sounds to the STS on corsa's sound clips. The sound exactly the same to me.
  • rjs200240rjs200240 Posts: 1,277
    I watched it at *least* 5 times just the day I got home... :D I always thought my car sounded a little less deep than the STS clips, which to me made it sound a little more exotic. But they do sound quite similar. And it may be because I hear it from inside the car where it isn't as deep since it's not subject to the doppler effect.

    If you want to hear your exhaust more, take the rear seat out for a day. It really sounded wicked. If it weren't so impractical, I might just leave it out... :D

    The track is in the mountains, so I'd guess probably around 500'-750', I wouldn't think it's over 1000'. I guess I could call them and ask.

    Greg, it could be that WRX driver was just a crappy driver, or that he just cared about his car. I suspect you really have to get it right to launch that thing well, and I also suspect that sidestepping the clutch at > 4000 rpm on an AWD car is horrifically bad for the drivetrain.

    Here's another clip for you all. You can't hear my car as much, and this is the guy who ran the 13.7 against me: http://members.aol.com/aurora402002/dragstrip/4thrun.mpg
  • Seriously, I think new ones would have made a measurable difference. 27,000 miles is nowhere near new grip/grab - even if you have a lot of highway. My stock Michelin's were good to about 33,000 miles before I did not feel comfortable with them in winter. I know the new ones have been improved for better tread life, but still, I think you were handicapped at least a tad with those tires.

    I don't think you'd notice/feel a tenth or two of a second in grab/go vs. spin, but the clock doesn't miss a thing.

    However, if you are saying that the track was pretty sticky from the other cars, then maybe it would not make much difference.
  • A Ferrari F355 decides to follow YOU. Driving home from school, Orlando to Ft. Lauderdale, I passed the Ferrari while working through traffic, I look back and his mimicking my moves. We clear the traffic and I expected him to come flying around, we were already in the last 90 degrees of the speedo, but he stays behind and follows me till I get off.

    Thinking wow, the old girl still gets that kind of respect. Bet he'd been pissed if he knew he was following a 95 with 112K miles lol.
  • rjs200240rjs200240 Posts: 1,277
    'cause he only has a 3.5L V8... ;)
  • ok how do I modify the rev limiter from 109 mph to about 125 mph? i love the thought of the RMS site; but i don't want a street cruiser(stop lite to stop lite).I was on hwy 5 over the thanking weekend and was tearing up beemrs and vw's.

       

       Good fun but if they knew what thier cars could do I would have been blown out of the water.

     

           all advice much apreciated

              THRAK44
  • rjs200240rjs200240 Posts: 1,277
    I scanned it up, finally... My car is "T66".

     

    image
  • What ran the 17.047??
  • rjs200240rjs200240 Posts: 1,277
    He later ran like a 16.5 or so. It was the first body style... He had goot RT's, especially for a manual.
  • Sweet Robert...just sweet!
  • sdasda Indian Land, SCPosts: 314
    Wow! How much fun! Question on shift points. My '01 shifts automatically from 1-2 at 5900rpm. I just had the transaxle replaced with a GM Certified, that is supposed to be brand new out of the box with all the updates. It too, shifts at 5900. I tried to manually shift the old unit 1-2 but it overrode me and still shifted at 5900. I haven't tried this on the new unit, thou. Any others do the same//do you know if the shift points can be raised? Though I generally drive conservatively, fun is fun. I hate not getting maximum benefit from that sweet 4.0. And I am jealous (ha ha)that yours shifts at 6400, 6500 manually. Awesome.

    2010 Pilot EXL-RES, 2013 Accord EX

  • Robert, I hope this doesn't sound like a stupid question, but you say you drop the car in 2nd gear when racing. What does this do, and how long do you keep it in second? Do you manually upshift at certain rpm's?

    John
  • rjs200240rjs200240 Posts: 1,277
    Hey John,

    I put the gear selector in 2 while I am stopped/staging. I just leave it there for the whole run. What it tends to do is signal the PCM that you are serious, and it will snap off faster and firmer shifts. It also seems more willing to hold until the redline in 2. The car will still shift into 3rd gear when you top out of 2nd despite the shifter selection.

    However, make sure you put it back into 3 or D before/as you slow down, or it'll jump back down to 2nd gear as soon as you are slow enough that the revs are allowed in 2nd.

    Bob
  • 95mushroom95mushroom Posts: 230
    And why not 1? I believe you said too much wheel spin? I guess then for us less privileged, 1 would be better?
  • rjs200240rjs200240 Posts: 1,277
    But from what I understand, 2 has the desired effect. I suspect putting it in 1 would perform exactly the same way. In either case it starts in 1st and shifts hard and fast at the redline. :)

    On my car, though, 1 interferes with the cupholder... It does take just under 15 seconds to get down there, you might get thirsty during that time. :D
  • 95mushroom95mushroom Posts: 230
    yea mine hits the cupholder too. I love engineers lol.
  • HenryHenry Posts: 1,106
    Engineers that don't drink coffee.
  • thrak44thrak44 Posts: 4
    Hi all, I have a 98 white diamond classic appx. 54k. Do I need a chip to adjust redline or a software program?

    I dont see alot of folks using domestic power products ,are there concerns?

    thanx all THRAK44
  • rjs200240rjs200240 Posts: 1,277
    If you wanted to adjust the redline, yes you'd need something that changed it like a reprogram.
  • HenryHenry Posts: 1,106
    The only aROARas that are "chipable" are the 1995's. The other need to be reprogrammed.
  • thrak44thrak44 Posts: 4
    is this something i can buy or can a "tuner" do it?
  • blk97aurorablk97aurora Posts: 573
    thrak44,

    eBay has dozens of austions for products to increase hp by about 20 for $10 to $20. I think they work by fooling the PCM by changing the intake air temperature input to a lower value. I have not tried one and am not recommending. Take a look at Hypertech, but I don't think they have anything for Northstars. If you find a tuner who can reprogram 96-99 Auroras, there will be a lot of interest on this board.
  • zephram22zephram22 Posts: 1
    Just got the car. Thought it was great. Still do. BUT....can't find repair manuals anywhere. Very few aftermarket parts available for this specific model, and it's sluggish. Anyone know if a "96-99 4.0 performance intake" would work on an '02 3.5 liter one? Also, has anyone actually found a tuner that works well with the 3.5?

    Thanks :confuse:
  • hammen2hammen2 Posts: 1,313
    Repair manuals - look at http://www.helminc.com - there are also eBay auctions for CD-ROM based service manuals for multiple GM vehicles.
    intake - probably not, totally different generation of car, not to mention different engine
    tuner/aftermarket parts - probably not much. Maybe try a K&N panel filter, if they make one for the Shortstar, or look at http://www.domesticperformance.com and see if they have any real products (not vaporware)...

    --Robert
  • phavasphavas Posts: 1
    I have a 96 Aurora with 158K and no problems other than the AC quit. Th thought it was a low charge so bought an R134a Kit, I have the gauges etc... COuld not get the compressor to kick in. Shorted out both switches inthe low pressure line, checekd voltage to the relay, checked the relay, checked the fuses, no pwer to the plug at the front of hte compressor. Continuity from one plug pole to earth, no voltage from the other, nothing across them. Any ideas? GOng nuts here. Also: Are the rear wheel bearings special? Hard to change?
    Thanks
    Peter (New member) :confuse:
  • hammen2hammen2 Posts: 1,313
    Yes, this is Yet Another Aurora Common Failure. The compressor is likely seized and shot (it's a little underpowered for the car... poor engineering).

    Don't know about the rear wheel hubs, but the fronts are a bear. Info on replacement at the link below:
    http://www.howardm.net/dred98/underhood.php

    Here's another site with good info common repair areas:
    http://maytag87.dyndns.org:8081/rob/auroratips.htm

    Hope this helps,

    --Robert
  • Hi guys! I have a '95 Aurora that is stone, bone stock with only 82k on it. It's Teal with Teal interior and it's been very well kept--the paint still glows, no rust, and the interior is doggone near perfect. It gets 18mpg around town and 26 on the highway. I've had the car since 2000 and the only gripe I have with it is it's soggy bottom-end power. Once over 2500rpm the thing will come alive and scoot, but with the air on at low rpm it's not all that impressive. Since I also have a hot rod '68 Camaro that runs 11s in the 1/4-mile, I feel kinda let down when I get back in the Aurora despite its absolute luxury. Does anyone have any ideas how I can wake the Aurora up to at least be peppy at low rpm and have some decent thottle response? I love the car and intend to keep it until it falls apart, but I sure miss having some decent torque. Any help would be much appreciated.
  • hammen2hammen2 Posts: 1,313
    search for "airbox mod" and "Corsa" for more info on two HP-boosting mods you can do to your Aurora... The former is cheap, the latter isn't...

    --Robert
This discussion has been closed.