Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ford Escape Hybrid

Comments

• ANT14ANT14 Posts: 2,687
    As of what I have seen, Ford is trying to refine and extract as much "efficiency" out of the Hybrid. If released at this moment, the vehicle would acheive 35MPG, when it's introduced in the summer (under the latest plans) it'll acheive 40MPG, so they are trying to refine it.
  • I currently drive a Windstar because it gets better mileage than the big SUV's but can still tow my camper. Why can't Ford design the Escape to do this and still get 30mpg? DUH!
  • I know most development is in-house but I was just wondering. I have some background experience w/ hybrids and currently work for a Tier-1 auto supplier. I'm trying to get my 1990 S-10 Blazer survive for another year until the hybrid Escape is available, or maybe the Toyota Highlander, whichever comes first.
  • Does anyone know anything about radio interference in hybrid vehicles? I'm a volunteer firefighter and would be very interested in the hybrid Escape when they are available. But if there is a lot of RF noise from the electric motor and it affects two-way radio use, then I have a big problem.
  • john1701ajohn1701a Posts: 1,897
    Because Prius is so computer dependent and it has such a powerful motor, it actually has some of the best RF shielding ever available for an automobile.

But of course, that's for it's hardware. That may not help for the placement of your hardware.

JOHN
    USA: Ford sets production date for its first hybrid - report
    31 Oct 2003
    Source: just-auto.com editorial team

Ford will start production of hybrid petrol-electric versions of its Escape sport utility vehicle in July 2004, with a target of selling 10,000 to 20,000 a year, company executives said on Thursday, according to Reuters.