Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Chevy Silverado: Problems & Solutions

Comments

• Sorry to butt in... I'm new to this.
    the thermometer on my 2001 Silverado says NC in the mirror readout. Any ideas....

Thanls!
  • the mirror readout says "NC"
    any body know the fix?
  • I have a 2000 Sierra Z71 with 60,000 miles on it. Within the first year of ownership, I started hearing a noise from the rear of the truck that sounded like a loose traler hitch. I had to hit a pretty good bump to make the noise so it wasn't normally bothersome. Every time I took it in for service, A I mentioned this noise and they always said they couldn't get it to make any noise and everything looked ok. I recently moved to a different town and took the truck to a Chev dealer for service. They checked out the noise and said there was some special lubricant they could apply to the spring that might possibly help and the total fix would cost about $100. I had previously determined that the noise was just on the passenger side wheel area so a spring problem could be the cause of the noise. Springs aren't exactly complex and I don't understand why one spring was fine and the other makes this noise. I go fishing and hunting a lot more since moving to this new town and riding over some washboard gravel road really makes some noise. I guess nothing is being harmed but it sure sounds bad. Any thoughts as too the cause of this noise and the appropriate cure?
  • I agree there is no "rocket science" in springs,BUT you haven't mentioned anything about TIRES, try rotating while they are off look for a busted leaf in the spring assy. That and maybe you have bad SHOCK, something could be bouncing around in there!
  • I am having similar problems. Have you found out anything on what the problem is/was...???? I am still having the problems... and getting worse.