Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Chevy TrailBlazer Transmission Problems

Comments

• Every time I start to love my 2003 TB again, something goes wrong with it. I also had a bad transmission. It went out on me at about 10,000 miles. Right from the beginning it had an electrical problem too. The turn signals would get stuck instead of flashing and the dome lights would go on and off randomly. And at about 20,000 miles it left me stranded in a dark parking lot late at night in the rain. That time it needed a new ignition switch. Around that time a water pump also broke and apparently caused a lot of damage so several parts had to be replaced. (I am not a mechanic so I may not use the right language.) The "Check Engine" light goes on frequenty which is unnerving. In fact, it is on right now. Almost every time that happens though, it ends up being a "loose gas cap" and the dealer charges me $200 just to tell me that. What a gimmick! Who knows if that is the problem this time; I checked the gas cap but the light is still on. Now I am stuck going to the dealer because they either need to reset the "check engine" light or something else is wrong again. Cha-ching for them once again!

The service manager told me that the problems with my TB are "just a fluke" and most people have had good experiences with theirs. I am seeing here that this is not quite true.

I only have another year of payments left so I hesitate to sell it. But it pains me to pay close to $400 a month for a car that I constantly have to pour money into to fix. One thing is for sure though; I will NEVER buy an American car again, especially a GM car.