Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

'86 Mustang Hatchback-Considering Restoring

bigkp2001bigkp2001 Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Ford
I have a 1986 Mustang Hatchback LX with 142,000 miles on it and its not pretty to look at...Under the hood its got a 4-banger but its got space to drop a 8 into it...I'm not very good with cars but I've been considering selling it or junkin it.....I'd hate to junk it but I'm wondering if anyone on here thought I'd be able to find someone who wants it to restore....

Comments

• bigfurbigfur Member Posts: 649
    but my first question would be why??? secondly i doubt there are too many people wanting to restore an 86. but thats just my guess.
  • bretfrazbretfraz Member Posts: 2,021
    Imagine that car showroom new. Almost no miles, perfect paint and interior, still got the OE tires and battery and motor oil in it, even the spare tire has the air from the factory. What's that car worth?

I'm sure Shifty can chime in with an estimated valuation but I'm guessing just a few grand.

If the body was perfect (doesn't sound like it) then maybe someone would want it to make a hot rod drag car out of it. Those mid 80s/90s Mustangs are really popular with drag racers. But that's about it.

Unless you know someone who would use it for parts I'm afraid its a junkyard special. If we were talking about a Mustang GT convertible or an SVO, things might be different.
  • Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    No, I don't think anyone will restore it. Cars like that are meant to use and then dispose of.
    They have very little value and never will, so best move on.

A later model Mustang V-8 would not be too expensive (less than a restoration of an '86!) and a lot more fun I bet.
  • mpvmikempvmike Member Posts: 6