Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Owe more than it's worth... I'm upside down and I can't get up!

fillesmomfillesmom Member Posts: 4
I am very new to car buying and I need help! A few years ago I just had to have a Volvo 850T wagon. I LOVE this car but the payments ($456) are killing me! (Not to mention the cost of any repairs - $163 for a headlamp!) I am finally ready to give up my beloved dream car. Unfortunately I find that my payoff is $9244 and the trade in is only $5700. What in the world should I do? Can I roll this over? I was thinking of leasing something with a much lower payment. (That way I could avoid repair costs.)

Comments

• lancerfixerlancerfixer Member Posts: 1,284
    I'm assuming you bought this used. How long was the term for...are you more than halfway done with the payments? If you go over to the "Real World Trade-In Values" thread on the Smart Shopper forum and post a very detailed description of your car, Terry over there could probably give you an idea of a good asking price if you want to sell it yourself. I advise against rolling over negative equity into a new car; eventually, you're going to be paying this money you owe one way or the other.
    You're not alone in this; I've been in a position of negative equity in the past, and made the mistake of rolling it over into another car. It's awful, but it's survivable (I sucked it up and made all the payments, and lived to tell the tale; the car is paid off and I've still got it.) Good luck.
  • fillesmomfillesmom Member Posts: 4