Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Mazda3 Maintenance & Repair

Comments

• roadburnerroadburner Member Posts: 17,312
    I meant 1000-1500 miles.

Mine: 1995 318ti Club Sport; 2020 C43; 2021 Sahara 4xe 1996 Speed Triple Challenge Cup Replica Wife's: 2015 X1 xDrive28i Son's: 2009 328i; 2018 330i xDrive

• JBaumgartJBaumgart Member Posts: 890
    ahightower, yes I've been using Mobil 1 in all of my vehicles for many years. I guess old habits die hard, especially when you've had good success with something. I just found it interesting that the color does turn dark relatively quickly, especially compared to my wife's vehicle, a 2004 Lexus RX330 where it seems to stay light and clear until it's time for the next change. My Infiniti FX45 (V8) is somewhere in between her car and the Mazda 3. I've also heard that the oil taking on a dark color doesn't mean it's lost its lubricating properties necessarily, just like the moderator here said. So I'm not going to worry about it and just stick to the 4500-5000 mile intervals.

As far as the filters are concerned, I've stuck to the manufacturer's OEM and have had my cars serviced at the dealership, at least for many years. I used to change oil myself, but I got away from it maybe 15 years ago. On the older cars there weren't plastic shields to take off and put back on, and the filters were pretty accessible - most cars now are kind of a pain and my time is more valuable too.

Getting cooler here in Minnesota, won't be long before I have to put the winter wheels & tires on...used to do this myself too! ;)
  • usd21228usd21228 Member Posts: 3