Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Help, I'm a new driver and insurance costs are giving me a heart attack

1235»

Comments

• fushigifushigi Posts: 1,235
    Along the lines of what the article mentions:

- Get a base engine with AT. Base engine = less chance/ability to do burnouts & other "dumb teenage driver" tricks. AT = easier for the novice driver.
    - Avoid any model or trim that is "sporty" or performance-oriented. Coupes are often perceived as sporty so that might be where the "avoid coupes" advice is coming from.
    - Add available optional safety features. Note that some won't impact your insurance rates; others might. It will depend on your insurance carrier.
    - Find a model that's cheap to repair.

On the insurance side of the equation:

- Shop around on your insurance carrier.
    - We have a combined policy with both cars & our home. Getting home owners insurance bundled knocked like $70 off the 6-month premium on the auto side. The home insurance is still paid by mortgage escrow so that's not messed up.
    - Look for payment discounts. Lots of insurers offer monthly or quarterly options, but there can be added fees. Paying 6 months at a time avoids that for us.

If your agent is any good, they won't mind spending a little time on the phone with you going over 3 or 4 options. Good agents are interested in building long-term relationships and realize that looking out for their customers can earn a higher repeat customer rate.
  • steverstever YooperlandPosts: 40,417
    A reporter is looking for Midwestern/Southern US residents between the ages of 17 and 30 who do not plan to purchase a vehicle and who frequently use public transportation. If you fit this description, and you are willing to share your story, please send your daytime contact information to pr@edmunds.com no later than 10 a.m. Pacific on Friday, July 20, 2012.