Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Help, I'm a new driver and insurance costs are giving me a heart attack

Comments

• phase2k2phase2k2 Posts: 5
    i've been reading this topic...seems like you guys are just cheap no offense.

i'm 18, i got my license early this early may.
    i plan on buying an 07 nissan sentra or a 07 hyundai elantra

my quotes:
    geico : 12,000 for 6months premium
    progressive: 11,000 for 6month premium
    the lowest i can find is like a 8,000 for 6month premium on state minium requirements...

my parents don't drive and i have no idea what to do this moment.
    go under my aunts policy? make my parents get their license? :cry:
  • oldfarmer50oldfarmer50 Posts: 6,229
    What are you, a serial killer who uses his car to mow people down? No one could afford that!

My son on my insurance on a car he was the primary driver--$1300 for a year. My insurance on a car that I am the primary driver--$259 for a year.

2009 PT Cruiser, 2008 Eclipse, 1995 Mark VIII, 1988 GMC Van

• joel0622joel0622 Posts: 3,302
    my quotes:
    the lowest i can find is like a 8,000 for 6month premium on state minium requirements...

You had to have meant $1200.00, $1100.00 and $800.00.

Nobody pays $24K a year for insurance. If you have that bad of a record you have no business having a liscense :confuse:
  • lokkilokki Posts: 1,200
    For the cost of the car and the insurance, you could take taxi's every day and still come out ahead.

And it'd be cheaper still to just hire an on-call driver.

Yes, there's something wrong with those numbers.
  • jcoryjcory Posts: 17
    I used to drive an '01 Civic Coupe, I now drive an '01 Civic Sedan. As a 24 year old male, I can tell you that the difference in costs was astounding.

6 month cost (Iowa/State Farm) on the Coupe - 1020; Sedan - 660.