Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Volvo S40 Prices Paid and Buying Experience

Comments

• kyfdxkyfdx Posts: 27,671
    Reminder...

You may include the dealership name, city and state in your post. Please do not post names of salespeople, telephone numbers, email addresses, or other contact information.

Prices Paid, Lease Questions, SUVs

• donthegreekdonthegreek Posts: 126
    OK....new 06 S40 2.4i sticker is $29,498 how much should i try to get the dealer to knock off sticker? I'm in North central Pa!
    When do the 07's start arriving on the lots, might be able to do better when the 07's start shipping...

don
  • I'm new to haggling, how'd you get all the way down there!? Did you make the offer, etc?
  • cleve2cleve2 Posts: 4
    There was very little haggling.

We found that every dealer was offering a different Volvo incentive. One dealership was $4K off, then another at$5K off. We left the $5K dealership to discuss further and they called us the next morning and said the incentives just changed and now the car was $6K off (6/7/06). But, they wanted me to roll over $2K on my trade so we shopped the same price via email to the internet manager at another dealership. He responded quickly and made the deal without seeing the trade or us.

Hope this helps. Good luck!
  • _elle__elle_ Posts: 6
    I just bought my brand new 2006 s40 2.4i with a 5-speed manual tranny on Memorial Day. Got a great deal on it, $19,989, at Dick Dyer Mercedes-Benz/Volvo in Columbia, South Carolina. The salespeople were very friendly and so far, I've been very pleased with my purchase. When I was shopping around for the best price, my dad called up a dealership in Georgia where he had purchased 2 Volvos in the past and the best they could offer him was $22,000.
    Since Memorial Day, my little Swede has made it through the daily commute and a 1,000 mile road trip with no problems!
    :)