Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Volvo S40 Prices Paid and Buying Experience

Comments

• umshbumshb Posts: 10
    these guys seem to be under the impression that they need to make a profit on these cars...sounds like they're getting them at the cost of invoice.

anyway, it's black t5 with premium package (well at least it's got the beige leather, sunroof, and power front seat). nothing else really regarding upgrades...not 17's...wired with the sirius, but not installed...no climate package, no navigation system, no premium headlights, no 6-cd changer.

pretty much a base t5 with spoiler, the power sunroof, leather, and power front seat w/ memory (premium package i assume).

oh, and i'm in alabama. since i am a college student, i wonder if they just think i don't know anything about these cars...i've already contacted dealerships around where i am in school (in florida).
  • mrrk47mrrk47 Posts: 104
    I don't think he's bluffin....some dealers don't believe in the "get the unit off our lot at any cost" mentality. When I was shopping for my 2.4i I had located 2 cars at 2 diff dealers one @23500 and one @21060(the one I eventually leased) I told the dealer with the higher price that another had offered me 21060 and she said you'd better snap that one up because we ain't doing that. Her whole message was that her dealership would rather make profit than match a volvo with a young customer who more than likely will buy more volvos as the years pass on (that's not exactly what she said ,but that's what I heard. Her actual words were "to not sell it just for the sake of gettin it off the lot". So, I ended up gettin 5400 under msrp and about 2500 under invoice and a very happy experience. You just have to find a dealer who places a higher priority on cust. service than profit( the S40's are probably loss leaders and XC90's are where there real money is. (I'm probably wrong about that, who am I? )