Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Replacement Cost by Insurance Company for Totaled Vehicle

Comments

• I don't think they are under any obligation to sell it back to you. This is especially true in cases of cars stolen and stripped. The insurance company is afraid the theft was rigged, and that the parties involved will rebuild the car with the stolen parts they have stashed.
  • Any help would be nice, I am not sure what to do. I was rear ended and it did enough damage to total the car. The insurance adjuster said that my car is only worth $3900 but the blue book value is $6600. They are taking off $1500 because it is a salvaged car, why that amount?? I had no idea it was a salvaged car when I got it and the person I got it from didn't tell me. I am paying for full coverage but if my car isn't worth the coverage I have been paying for 4 years is there something I can do with my insurance people. If I fill a claim with my insurance do they have to give me the amount I have been paying for? Please help, anything will be nice!

Thank you!
  • cccompsoncccompson Posts: 2,388
    The insurance company is obligated to pay you what the car is worth. If it has a branded (i.e., salvage) title, it is worth considerably less than "blue book" (which itself is pretty meaningless) or a comparable vehicle with a clear title. I don't understand how you could not know that is was a salvage vehicle.

It would help if you could provide further details about the vehicles so we could offer a better idea of what it was worth prior to the collision.