Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Duramax Fuel Mileage

Comments

• Pulled 6500lbs in the form of a classic truck across NC the other month with my dads 2005 Chevy 2500 HD Crew Cab 4x4. Averaged 16.3mpg!!! That is better than most folks say they get running clean with a Dodge or ford. That Duramax with the Allison 1000 tranny is a perfect marrage for pulling. We use the truck for pulling farm trailers and pulling maybe 4000lbs it averages about 18mpg! Running Clean at 55mph I have hit the 21mpg mark. Amazing for a truck 6000lbs. I dunno as I beleive that that Dodge gets 25 mpg at 70mph with the ac on. The Duramax won't so that makes me suspect about Cummins age old desighn.
  • I have 3500 miles on this regular cab that has the Allison. I am a very conservative driver and have always gotten better than average mpg. It runs great but its getting the same mileage as my old 454 but the fuel is higher priced.
  • donwydonwy Posts: 2
    I have a 2005 crew cab 3/4 ton HD with the Duramax and about 2400 miles on it. Living in Northern Canada, the temperature is cold this time of year but I am still getting 13.8 mpg (US gal.)on winter fuel when doing all city driving in heavy traffic and about 17 mpg on the highway with two passengers and no load. Sounds like you have a problem.
  • I would hope people realize the clever marketing behind all of those outrageous claims of increased fuel mileage from these fuel additives.

The last two links were two products that claim alot. Both sites spend as much time trying to get you to sell their product than use it. Come on people...putting a giant pill in your gas tank. Are you kidding me! The last one is talking about CNBC World Business Review with Alexander Haig. It is well known that production costs for WBR are paid for by the company that wants there product on air. Please save your money.