Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Volkswagen TDI Models Prices Paid and Buying Experience

Comments

• Well since you got a good car it doesnt really matter that much if you paid a little bit more.

It should repay you in saved fuel.
  • Hello -

I'm quite close to finalizing a deal on a used TDI, but I wanted to get some input from some of the members here. I'm new to diesels, but not to VW's (currently own a '91 GTI). My wife and I are currently expecting, and we've decided that we really need a wagon. We both enjoy the style and driving feel of Passats, and the idea of saving some gas $$ by owning a diesel. So, the TDI seems a natural choice.

Obviously TDIs (particularly Passat wagons) are getting rather scarce right now, but after calling 25 dealers in a 50 mile radius of my home, I managed to find a single one: a CPO 2004 Passat TDI GLS wagon with 17k miles for $22.6k. It has leather(but no wood), ESP, power sunroof, rubber floormats, 15" wheels, and is in excellent condition cosmetically. We test drove it, loved it, and started negotiating. The dealer won't budge from $22.6k plus $100 in "dealer fees." He's holding it for us, and we have a week to decide.

Everything I've read suggests that this is probably a pretty great deal, but I would really appreciate some input from the community of experts.

Thanks!