Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

2009 Toyota Corolla

Comments

• kdhspyderkdhspyder Posts: 7,160
    Good story Mack..

My own is similar and how ironic ( see below ).

1989 my former company promotes me and as an officer I'm entitled to choose any vehicle under $20000 which they will buy for me outright. I'm very hot to get an Accord at that time so my wife and I go to the local Accord store ( the three children are left with the oldest as the sitter ) in North Jersey and do the whole process...lambs to the slaughter so to speak. Well the '89 Accord was very very nice and I decided to buy it. We go inside and get everything written up and as we're going over the figures there's a $2500 surcharge in the vehicle price. Huh?

'What's that?' says the neophyte.
    'Accords are the hottest vehicle on the market now. It's a market adjustment surcharge.' replies shark.
    Til now we've been like George Halas as described by Mike Ditka; i.e. we threw around nickels like they were manhole covers. All our prior vehicles were purchased preowned. The only reason that this is a new one is that someone else is buying it for us. $2500 surcharge??? That brings this $18000 Accord to over $20,500 plus NJ taxes and fees.

'I'm not paying that.'
    Now the kicker ala Mack's story.

'Well don't expect to go anywhere else and try to negotiate something better. We all talk to each other, ya know.' DING!!!!!!!!! [ thoughts of attacking slimebag scum-sucking shark are somehow repressed]

So I walk out the front door of the store across the parking lot shared with the Toyota store walk in the front door there. 'I want to test drive a Camry' 'Sure'. Cliff Notes: With an $800 discount off MSRP I drive away 2 hours later in my first new Camry at about $17500 +TTF.