Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ford Escape Mazda Tribute Care and Maintenance

Comments

• s5805s5805 Posts: 1
    I have a brake squeal in my Escape that has been a problem since I bought it new. However, now it never, ever goes off. It just continuously squeals and is driving me crazy. The dealership says it is a vaccuum leak but they couldn't find it to fix it. They said they couldn't hear the squeal. So I had the service manager drive with me and the squeal nearly drove him nuts. I asked him how they could claim they could NOT hear it. He said he didn't know. Somehow I think they don't want to deal with this problem. Can someone help?
  • cruise1cruise1 Posts: 8
    Hi:
    I am new to this connection. I read your problem about a squeal that drives you nuts. Maybe this will help!

Usually when you have a squealing of the brakes you have a sound coming from the warning tabs that are attached to the front disc brake pads. They are telling you that the brake lining is ready to turn into metal and ruin your rotor. Sometimes you might have a warped rotor that is causing a in and out feeling as you depress the brake pedal. If the noise is coming from the back of the car it could be that a spring came off and released the brake shoe assembly.

I just bought a 2002 Tribute with a v6 engine. I decided to see what kinds of experience people are having with their Tribute.

See ya,