Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ford Explorer Mercury Mountaineer 2006 and newer

Comments

• panzerpanzer Posts: 125
    No, the clunking is clearly the front axle hooking up in a slip situation. I've had lots of experience with that through the 30 inches of new snow we have been driving through for the past few days. The vehicle has handled the snow very well. Really, I have no complaints with the way the Michelins handle in any weather or situation. They are not off-road tires, but then again the Explorer is not much of an off-road truck.

I too prefer rwd. It's just that minivans give you more room inside for the amount of real estate they take up. Also, they are much easier to load (live) bodies into. If three rows, rear drive and the ability to carry seven is important, I would definitely look at the next larger size vehicle, the class of which is currently the Tahoe/Suburban.

I'll check on disbling the ding, but I have my doubts that's possible.
  • lateralglateralg Posts: 929
    "However, you cannot run through the gears sequentially (except for 1,2,3) and hold them"

Make that 1,2,3,&4. I fail to see any advantage to going beyond this. I have over a year's use on my Mountaineer, including off-roading and 4,000 miles of towing a 5,000# travel trailer. I've yet to see a need for more manual gear selection than what is provided.

By the way, the O/D button blocks out both 5-th and 6-th, the two overdrive gears. 4-th gear is direct.
  • I'm thinking about going the other way - from a 2002 explorer to a v8 Touareg. Which one do you think is better?
  • My wife and I ordered a 2007 EB Explorer to replace our '04 Mountianeer. We opted for the seats with the suede inserts because it provides a surface that feels more like cloth (neither one of us care for leather/pleather).