Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Nissan 350Z Gas Mileage Reports

2»

Comments

• hhookshhooks Posts: 1
    I drive my 350Z about 100 miles per day, 90% of which is interstate. I was getting 23 mpg average. I have always driven 75 on the interstate, and I like to accelerate quickly from stoplights. However, a couple of weeks ago, I computed how much money my wife and I are spending each month on gasoline. I was spending nearly $500 per month in my car, and she was spending nearly $700 per month in hers (Denali). She just bought a 4 cylinder Camry, and we are going to drive the Denali very sparingly.

I studied the hypermiling websites to try to figure out how to get better gas mileage. I have slowed to an average of 55 mph. I do pulse and glide with the engine on (accelerate to 60, coast down to 50, then repeat). I also have started accelerating more slowly (2,000 rpm instead of 4,000). I coast to stoplights instead of rushing to them and slamming on my brakes. I turn my engine off if I know it is going to be a long stoplight (over 30 seconds). I do not draft behind semi's or drive with the engine off while coasting at highway speeds because I am afraid of getting decapitated by a tire if the semi has a blowout and because I am afraid of losing control without power steering and brakes.