Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Honda Civic Hybrid MPG-Real World Numbers

Comments

• nilesboynilesboy Posts: 10
    I bought a 2006 Civic Hybrid new in 2006. I have 33,500 miles on the car. I started out getting 45 to 47 MPG city/highway driving for the first 2 years.
    On a trip from Fl. to W.Va. I even got 50 mpg.
    In January 2009 (after buying new tires) I began to get 38 mpg or less city/hwy. It keeps going down consistantly. Today I checked my mileage and it was 32 mpg city/hwy. Anyone out there have any answers? I use the same gas (sunoko, hess,BP, citgo, etc.)
  • I bought a new (06) civic hybrid in Jan. 2006, I have 35,000 miles on the car. Started out getting 47 mpg average for the first 2 years. In Jan. 2009 after putting on new expensive tires the mpg went down to 38 mpg. Today Sept. 15th, 2009 I checked after fillup and it was 35 mpg. I am a careful driver with no jack rabbit starts etc. Any suggestions? Could it be the Hybrid Battery? Please give me your opinion.
  • I am not an expert by any means, but I understand that tires make a big difference. Just that they are "expensive" doesn't mean anything in terms of gas mileage. Too much tread equals decreased gas mileage??? again, sorry not an expert.
  • I have a 2008 Civic Hybrid. I was averaging 47mpg and 50+ on the highway.
    Suddenly, my mileage dropped to the 39-40 range. I talked to the dealer about it and they had no clue. I changed several gas brands to no avail.
    So, I did a little test. I turned off the air conditioner for two to three days (that's torture in Florida in the summer) and sure enough the mileage started to climb.
    I also play golf once a week, sometimes twice, so I took my golf clubs out of the trunk and put them in the garage.
    Sure enough, my mileage climbed back to the 47 level with no A\C and no extra weight in the trunk.