Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

2013 and earlier-Mercedes-Benz C-Class Lease Questions

Comments

• shyamyshyamy Posts: 23
    Hi guys,
    Am a total newbie here and trying to absorb all the lease jargon.
    Had a quick question - the residual value seems to be a hot topic but if I dont intend to buy the car after the lease period ends, do I even need to worry about it? does it have any other implication?

Apologise if I'm repeating this question. Appreciate any responses. thanks!
  • Yes, Shyamy. It has a very significant consequence. Assuming the same money factor (ie, interest payment), the higher the residual value, the lower your payment. The reason being that you are essentially financing the depreciation in the value of the car. So the less depreciation, the better your deal.
  • As soccerandlost states, you finance the depreciation. So you need to focus on getting the lowest sale price and find a car with the highest residual value for the term you wish to lease. That will ensure your payments are lower than those who don't bother to negotiate the sale price and/or find a car with high residual value.

G
  • I currently own an 07 Camry. I am upside down about 2000 -2500. I want to lease an 08 or an 09 base model automatic C300, approximate price is 33,000. I am hoping to get my payment UNDER 500. Do you think that is possible. I went to a dealer today and he said he'd try, that it might work. I just want to know if I'm even in the right ball park. Please help. Thank you.
  • Hello all,

I received the following offer from a local dealer. I have not yet obtained the actual selling price, MF or residual, but these are the hard numbers.

C300 Sport, Automatic, MSRP 34900
    36 month lease, 12K miles
    $650 total down (includes 1st month payment, fees, taxes, etc..)
    $459 a month (includes taxes, which are quite high here)

Is this a "good" deal?

Thanks!