Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Pontiac G6 Hardtop Convertible

Comments

• Hello "thlhbrit",
    I found that the wind swirling around from the back, in between the front seats, caused a draft on the driver and passenger's necks. I built my own deflector from aluminum tubing and ordinary window screening. (I'm an aircraft & sheetmetal mechanic by profession). It resembles a "rollbar". The results were absolutely amazing! No more drafts and the car is extremely quiet. I highly recommend a wind deflector.
    Pontiac charges $420, but perhaps you can locate one on Ebay for less.

Happy Holidays,
    Steve
  • I have a G6 pontiac convertible 06 the top is not go the cable is bad do you know is this a recall ?? my name is Max 775-200-6751
  • Max,

I do not know of any recalls regarding the convertible top. Which cable are you speaking about? There is only 2 cables regarding the top, they drive what is called the flipper door. This closes out the hole the top leaves when it goes into the trunk. The topstack is hydraulically driven, and typically if the top is not moving, it is an electrical (switches, cable lead not plugged in) not a mechanical issue.

Please describe the issue your having... Does the latch by the windshield actuate? If so, it is typically a switch issue in the receiver (2 switches on the driver side, pop the header trim and check the connectors and the switches) or what is called a hall sensor attached to the hydraulic cylinder that drives the latch at the windshield. This can be checked by popping off the headliner (be careful not to damage it as you remove)

If the latch at the windshield actuates, is the pump trying to actuate the top (is the pump motor whining)?

These are the type of questions that if you can answer we can probably get to the bottom of your issue.