Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

BMW 3-Series Run Flat Tires

Comments

• Hi there! I'm new to edmunds and this is my first post here.

My wife and I live in a mountain community in the Los Angeles area, both drive BMWs.

My wife's 2007 328ix wagon w/sport package 225/45/17 conti RFTs

No major issues with handling, or noise. I noticed that the shoulders on the front tires were wearing more.

When we took the car in for 15k service, and asked them to rotate, and align. BMW service rep stated that BMW does not recommend tire rotation? I suppose with many BMWs having staggered fitments that is their S.O.P.

She recently had a low tire pressure warning. Upon inspecting the tires I found one low. I plan on taking to my tire shop to see if it has a puncture. The tire was only low, never zero PSI, hopefully it can be repaired if needed.

I'll update after I have the tire checked out.

Overall I'm glad we got one with Conti's after reading all of these issues.

My BMW dealer tries to pimp nitrogen to all of their customers, unsuccessfully to me. I'm curious if that has anything to do with the Bridgestone RFT blister problems.

SteveO
  • I have 06 325, never had a flat (jet). But long drives make me nervous.
    To me solution for RFT is full size rim with RFT in the trunk.
    Is there in the market a chip rim (aftermarket) that is interchangeable with a regular BMW rim?
    Lehrer
  • circlewcirclew Posts: 8,363
    Hi Shipo. Hope you and yours are well. As you know, I am not a proponent for RFT's but the Continentals gave me good service and virtually no noise as well as extremely even and long lasting wear. Of course, that includes tire rotations that you recommended way back.

Regards,
    OW
  • lokkilokki Posts: 1,200
    BMW - as a company- has been indifferent to tire rotation for at least a decade now.