Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Honda Accord (1998-2002) Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• bugs3bugs3 Posts: 1
    I think 98-02 accords had transmission problems. Mine went out at 50k...it used to shift hard from 2-3 gear. Went to the dealer and they diagnosed it ordered a new tranny and replaced it for free. Honda has given some tranny' ext warranty through 100k since they were aware of the problem
  • Wow, For once i have actually heard people who have had problems with there hondas. I have a 98 accord 2.3L VTEC, with manual trans. Its got 150,000 or so and i have the same problem but it lasts a little longer and really doesnt quite down untill it gets hot. I am a mechanic for GM, and believe that it is exactly what you say, the lifters drain out and need a litte time to refill. Chevy have that same problem on the 3.1 engine especially if they sit for a while. I have adjusted the valvues on mine as well and did a new timing chain due to the high miles on the vehicle and still have that little noise. Very annoying sometimes, but i feel as if it is not a problem for me. The engine runs great and i do have a couple of other problems that baffle me, but as long as its not a loud clanking of knocking i would not worry bout it...
  • Are you talking about a '98 Accord? I thought they all have belts.
  • Hi. I own a manual 1999 Honda Accord LX with 4 cylinders under the hood. Its done about 102000 on the clock and has been running fine until now. On my recent interstate trip, i noticed that as i accelerated from zero to interstate speeds, the car begins to shake quite prominently between 40 to 60 mph. Surprising the vibration and shaking stops as i go higher. I tried 100 and it seemed fine. I am suspecting a natural frequency issue.
    Can some one shed some light on this, please?