Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra vs Dodge Ram

123457»

Comments

• dustykdustyk Posts: 2,926
    The new GM light duty truck platform is getting rave reviews and if you go over to the Siverado/Sierra forms its a real lovefest. They're reported to be very smooth and powerful, much better assembled, and a joy to drive.

That being said, they should be. As a previous fleet manager I have thought for years that the GM light duty pickups were the most over rated trucks on the market. Reliability has been down right poor in the past and GM has usually been the toughest to get relieve from in warranty cases. Things are different now and GM needs to make friends. Maybe they've improved design and quality. I think its way too early to tell, but one of our GM techs have already commented about 4L70E and 4L80E transmission problems.

The full-size Dodge RAM has been a sturdy and reliable performer for my company, especially in the last few years. We've had no engine, transmission, or drive train issues. In fact, no major issues at all which is remarkable when you have 44 of them. The 2002-2004s seemed to have more electrical problems, but our recent purchases are absent any problems in this area. The 4.7 engine is bullet proof and so is the new 6-speed 545RFE transmission.

In actual practice I think you'll find that the fuel consumption between the 4.7 and the 5.7 Hemi in a four-wheel drive might be negligible. This, of course, is all very dependent on how you drive. I do think that both the 4.7 and 5.7 will give you better gas mileage than the old LA360 (5.9) and a careful driver will probably realize slightly better MPG with the 4.7.

Good luck and best regards,
    Dusty
  • nam92nam92 Posts: 3