Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Tire pressure monitors

rollbarrollbar Posts: 297
After being around the block several times on a set of summer wheels and tires I finally settled on a set of Speed Stars and Kumho's (SPTs). (For an Infiniti G35 Coupe but this issue is not make specific.)

The problem now, (problems keep popping up), is the pressure monitors. I paid the big bucks and bought a set of 4 OE monitors from the dealer, ($400 no less). Now Tire Rack, who was willing to put my new pressure monitors in their wheels, says they won't fit. Something about the where the valve hole is on the Speed Star wheels. I tried to challenge them but they won't give on the installation and are sending my high priced pressure monitors back. (My problem is not Tire Rack; I have always had good service from TR and continue to be a customer.)

I don't relish looking at a yellow low pressure warning light all summer long, (I know that without pressure monitors the low pressure warning light will be triggered). I can stick a piece of black tape over that spot on the dash but that's a tacky fix, (pun intented).

My question.....

Has anyone tried or heard of installing a pressure monitor in a small tire (or perhaps the spare) and keeping it inflated to a pressure that satisfies the computer? You would have to store the trick tire in the car, perhaps in the spare tire area if there's room.

It will depend (I think)....on whether the computer looks for a single "low pressure" signal to trigger the warning light or; if it looks for 4 proper pressure signals.

Anyone know? In the first instance I think the trick might work; in the second, I don't think so since I can't put four trick tires in the trunk or spare area.

I have not discussed this with the dealer yet but for the most part I find they don't seem to have much experience with customers that are making mods or thinking outside of the owners manual. (No dis of the Dealer though, in other respects they have been great.)

Thoughts?

Thanks all,

Roll
«1

Comments

  • i have a 04 denali XL with tire pressure monitor. i just put on some new 22' rims on my truck. when i leave the shop my tire tire pressure monitor came on. what can i do to fix the problem with pressure monitor on the dash board.
  • watsonruwatsonru Posts: 3
    I'm studying American TPMS market now. It's amazing that TPMS price at your end is so high. Presently I work for one electronics company headquartered in Taiwan. Our price, including dispatch charges from Shanghai, china to USA by FedEx or UPS, is less than US$250.00. As the quality is concerned, our TPMS is equpped with Freescale(Motorola) semiconductor, NYLOK screws and TADIRAN battery. I wonder which brand is the TPMS you bought of? I have thought each TPMS in USA market is as great as ours. :lemon:
  • 0patience0patience Posts: 1,542
    Did the rims they sold you have tire pressure monitors with them?
    Where they larger or smaller rims?
    If so, did they re calibrate the tire pressure monitor?
    Are they capable of doing that?
    If not, then put the old tires back on and find a competent tire shop.
  • How does one reset the tire indicator pressure light on a 2006 rav4. Can I or my mechanic do it without haveing to go to the dealer and be charged $300. for routine maintenance?
  • kiawahkiawah Posts: 3,666
    I don't know specifically for a Rav4, but for my 07 Camry LE there is a super secret sequence that you do, using a button which is under the glove box (open the glove box first). I posted the instructions in one of these forums, and printed it out and carry it in my glove box.

    Open your glove box, and see if there is a hidden button down underneath. If there is, I'll look up the instructions for you which you can try.
  • In the past couple of months, I have had the low tire pressure warning light come on, and when I go to the readout, the pressure is often the same as the other tires. I will then add about a pound of air, and the light will eventually go out. Is there any way to manually reset the warning?
  • okko1okko1 Posts: 327
    probably not but running 5lbs. over manufactures inflation will for the most part fix it.
  • isellhondasisellhondas Issaquah WashingtonPosts: 17,603
    Isn't this a pain?

    The new Hondas have these now and thay are a PITA.

    Every time the temperatures drop, the stupid light comes on. They are too sensitive for one thing!
  • paisanpaisan Posts: 21,181
    When the temp drops your pressure goes down. I believe for every 10 degrees F you drop 1 psi. So if you put air in when it was 80 degrees in July and now it's 20 out you could be down 6psi. I believe TPMS are requires on all cars in 07 or 08.

    -mike
  • kiawah - can you please post the instructions for me to turn off the tire pressure indicator light for my 2007 Camry?

    Thanks.
  • kiawahkiawah Posts: 3,666
    Sure.

    - Don't forget that there are 5 tires being monitored, the 4 plus spare. If you have a TPMS light problem, your spare might be low pressure.
    - The TPMS light should go off by itself, when you put air back in whichever tire is low.
    - If you have to reset the whole system, follow these steps:
    - - Engine off
    - - Adjust all 5 tires to the correct tire pressure when cold
    - - Turn engine on
    - - Open glove box, and to the left of the glove box, hidden down under a little lip, there is a rest button. Press and hold the button until the TPMS light blinks slowly 3 times.
    - - Leave engine running for a few minutes.
    - - This will reset the TPMS to set the new tire pressures as the 'norm'
  • Thanks for the info. I did not realize it also picked up the spare in my trunk. I will check the pressure on that one tonight. All of the other tires I put air in and are over 35 psi. Thanks for the info I appreciate it.
  • I am having trouble with curb view mirror. started out tire pressure sensors. says to low. serviceman "reset" sensors. then my curb view mirror disappeared they cheverlot said i never had it on my vehicle. wrong i did until they did what ever they did. I have had this 2007 trailblazer Lt 4 months have had in service10 times in this 4 months not very happy with chevy right now.......I know it was on my vehicle Is there a code for the curb view or does it come in a package. please help me. thank you :sick: :confuse: :confuse: :(
  • okko1okko1 Posts: 327
    have you checked your operators manual?
  • oldfarmer50oldfarmer50 Posts: 6,230
    "...then my curb view mirror disappeared..."

    What? The mirror disappeared? Did some one steal it while you were at the dealer? How could they say you never had one? If it was removed there must be something it was mounted to still on the vehicle. That would prove it was there.

    2009 PT Cruiser, 2008 Eclipse, 1995 Mark VIII, 1988 GMC Van

  • not the mirror a program that was on the mirror when you put in reverse the mirror would go down so you could see behind you better and when you put in drive it would go back up.........yes i have looked in manual states IF you have it expplains how to set it.......
  • I just bought a new Sportage EX. It has tire pressure monitoring, which I assume is a wireless broadcast thing. Well, I want to add a Dolphin Sonar Step wireless reverse sensing system to the vehicle, so I would like to know what frequency the TPMS system uses.

    In other words, will they affect each other?

    Thanks,

    Zeke
  • dtownfbdtownfb Posts: 2,915
    Your best bet is to talk to the dealer or the installer of the Dolphin Sonar Step system. My guess is you probably will not have a problem.
  • I opted for a hard-wired system, so there will not be a frequency interference issue.

    Thanks everyone,

    zeke
  • I just bought ( Oct 2008) a 2008 Chevy Trailblazer LT and paid extra to have a remote start installed by the dealer. Since then I have had my truck into the dealership for "repairs" at least 3 times related to the TPMS. All of the sudden my remote start would not work and the TPMS light came on with the DIC message Check Tire Pressures. Since the "repairs" the TPMS light still comes on with the Check Tire Pressures message and my remote start doesn't work. The last time they determined the remote start and TPMS had been wired together??
    Presumably they fixed the problem but when the dealer went to reset the TPMS it would not work right same problem all over and now I am told to go to the outside vendor they used to install the remote start directly to have them fix the problem?

    Sorry for the long blog but I am getting a bit frustrated. Does anyone know of this similar problem and how to resolve???

    Thanks
«1
Sign In or Register to comment.