Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Toyota Tundra Towing Questions

1235»

Comments

• rambler16rambler16 Posts: 6
    Thanks for the response. The tongue weight does go down when we have equipment in the back. The max tow weight of my Tundra is 10,600 standard bed 5.7. I new i would be close to the max, but the Tundra seems to pull it with no problems.
    Have a great day.
  • Okay, I confess, I am a pick up truck newbie .... as well as somewhat new to towing a travel trailer. Bought a used 07 Tundra V-8, 4.7 longbed. Salesman told me I could tow 7500#, but when I read the label inside the door at home it says 6800#. My TTrailer is an R-Vison Max lite which weights 4800 lbs dry.... So I'm good w/ that.
    My question is this: I was told by the NC Toyota dealer to always tow in S-4 due to the 1:1 ratio (???). My gas milage going across country in S-4 all the way was between 5 - 7 mpg. When I arrived in Durango, I spoke w/ the a dealer here about the mph who said I should have driven it in D all the way except for mountains. I've read the manual that came w/ the truck, but it is not clear to me when I should be using the S-gears. Please advise.

Other than that... it towed like a dream... much better than my Pathfinder.
    Thanks.
  • morin2morin2 Posts: 399
    You did the right thing. Yes, your fuel economy will suffer because you are operating at higher rpms in 4th gear than in OD, but it will be better than risking the trans or the torque converter to tow in OD. Towing in overdrive is always a bad idea - unless the load is very light, say a small aluminum boat for example. Some people are not convinced of it until they need a new transmission. The best tow vehicles are diesels and they do not suffer from such a great loss of fuel economy while towing.
  • apptunapptun Posts: 18