Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Honda Fit Prices Paid and Buying Experiences

Comments

• backybacky Twin CitiesPosts: 18,628
    Lucky VINs? I know that people of Chinese heritage don't care for 4s in their house addresses. So maybe if someone plans to live in the car...
  • Hi all. I am new to this lunacy that is car buying....
    So I will probably be bugging you with some pretty simple questions. I hope you don't mind too much.

First up. The term "Out the door". I am assuming that means the total out of pocket expense including everything but insurance. For instance it includes tax, tag title and any fees. Am I correct in assuming all that?
  • you are right. the OTD price is the TOTAL amount that you will pay to the car dealer.
  • Yep Out-The-Door (OTD) is the final price you pay after all state, local and dealer fee's.

Since taxes and fee's differ from state to state, it best to post like this:

2009 Honda Fit Sport
    $1748.00 Selling Price includes the destination charge
    +$1200.00 Sales tax
    +$350 Plates and reg
    +$100.00 Dealer Doc fee/processing fee
    =$19130.00 OTD

By listing the itemizing your selling price and fee a guy half a country away can compair his selling price to your. He may have lower or no sales tax but a $599.00 dealer doc fee. So the real number to focus on is the SELLING price. :)
  • lausylausy Posts: 14
    As someone that works (I am assuming here) at a Honda dealer and should have been around many of them, can you honestly say there is no difference between a Japan built vs US built Accord? When you close the doors of both cars, the Japan built one just feels more solid. It's things like that that makes people prefer J cars vs 1 or 2 cars.