Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ford Ranger Lighting and Electrical Problems

Comments

• Won't communicate with state inspection computer. Previous owner had installed light bar, which was removed but wire and toggle switch remain (were disconnected last week). The dome light often comes on or stays on, so I removed the light bulb. Battery gauge light doesn't work. Temp and battery charge gauges read zero when engine is cold, then tremble and begin to register when truck is driven for a short time. Cigarette lighter will heat but won't lock into 'down' position. I went to another shop; the guy there said that the state inspection software had been modified to close loopholes, and he couldn't bypass functions like he used to. I'm an electronics tech, and I read in the Forum to check clusters 11 and 17, cleaning and checking connections. I'm off to look at the dash gauges. Fuses are ok. Any advice? Thanks -
  • abs light has been on for awhile, brake lights stopped working a week ago. replaced brake light switch,no change,put wire in brke light switch plug in, light still wont work, the plug-in has power to it also, overhead brake light on cab has power . the turn signals and tail lights work fine, brake light wire under the cab has power but not at the brake lights . Im sorry it is a 1994 ranger 4x4 extended cab. Is the wire bad or could it be something else ? The brakes work fine .
  • bolivarbolivar Posts: 2,316
    ABS - On a 94 (I owned one), if you let the brake fluid in the master cylinder get low, the ABS light will come on when you press on the brake.