Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Volkswagen GTI Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• i stated my point and you did yours. people can do whatever they choose. i'm sticking to what i have been doing for many many years. :D
  • madmanmoomadmanmoo Posts: 2,039
    I've always been confused by folks who refuse to believe what the manual states. VW says 10k miles before you need to get your oil changed as long as you are using their recommended oil. Why would the manufacturer purposely lead you astray?

And their argument always comes down to: "That's the way I've always done it." Logic and reason are not their best friends. :)
  • shiposhipo Posts: 9,152
    Some of us subscribe to the Church of 3,000 Mile Oil Changes, some of us (me included) think the Church preaches a bunch of hogwash. I guess that makes me an atheist. ;)

Best regards,
    Shipo
  • banibani Posts: 39
    probably because the last time people believed what the manual states, they ended up with sludged engines and expensive repair bills.
  • BANI,

you got that right. :D
  • Madmanmoo,

ofcourse you would say that you work for one ,"Why would the manufacturer purposely lead you astray?" don't be so naive folks. :D
    I'm thinking that you shouldn't be so naïve as to believe that they don't know what they're talking about either.
  • Sure, they know EXACTLY what they are doing. :D
    I just don't understand your reasoning.

Do you truly believe that a huge manufacturer like VW has not done extensive and rigorous testing on their engines? It seems a little arrogant to me that you believe your experience with a handful of cars makes you more knowledgeable than a manufacturer who has experience with millions.