Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Land Rover LR2

Comments

• I'm a newbie when it comes to the whole navigation system so pardon me if my questions seem silly...

I understand the LR2 comes with 2 DVDs that have the most recent map info for both US and Canada. I know (according to the dealer) that the Nav System doesn't have a "traffic indication" feature that tells you if there are any traffic issues up ahead, but the included 6 month subscription to SIRIUS has traffic stations. The concept of GPS tracking, I am also aware of.

What I would like to know:
    - Is the GPS Navigation System subscription-based?
    - If it is NOT subscription-based, how does the vehicle know its present location, where to turn, etc.?
    - If it IS, what is the monthly cost?
  • haagdhaagd Posts: 20
    I went with the LR2 with the cold climate and lighting package (passed on the technology package)in the grey color. :)

The standard stereo will meet my needs, my current phone would not work with the blue tooth (thanks for some of the chat above otherwise I would not have known that) and I picked up a portable navigation system at Costco for $300.00 that I can use in any of my vehicles (will provide the needed compass that should be added next year's model).

I am looking forward to my first LR experience.

I hope the 9.8 rating is close to being right and that I am able to get a hitch and roof rack soon.
  • serranotserranot Posts: 113
    GPS is not subscription-based and is available to anyone who purchases appropriate hardware. Many autos now have built-in GPS navigation receivers; there are also many portable units now available.