Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Honda Civic Hybrid Engine Questions

13»

Comments

• jamrimanjamriman Posts: 14
    Hello,
    I own a 2006. Now that the weather is warming up, my stalling has returned. Car engine stops and is not reactivted by taking your foot off the pedal nor pushing on the accelerator. Honda can't duplicate the problem so I am stuck with this intermittent problem. I have to shift in S or L to start the engine up again. It is worse in stop and go traffic. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
  • I am not a mechanic but I have had this problem and can give some advice. I can't believe all the terrible information I have been reading about. First off the battery has nothing to do with the car not starting. Battery should be fine, the blinking lights are a clue. Read your owners manual about what blinking lights indicate. One person mentioned letting the gas tank breath. That is the closest thing that anyone had said to answering the question. The sensor for the catalytic converter are problems in the hch. They should be recalled, but I don't think Honda built one that works. I have a 05 HCH and I do primarily city driving. My warning light first came on at 30K miles, I tightened the gas cap and everything was fine, as recommended in the owners manual. It happened for the next 30K miles with a little more frequency. I finally replaced the gas cap. The light came on and would not go out one time. No problems with cars performance mpg or sputtering. I took it to the dealer and they said it needed 1 of 2 catalytic converters. I could not afford $1,500 at the time and kept driving it. The light went out and I took it back to Honda they said all was good. The next time it happened I was at an appointment and went to leave and I had the blinking dash board lights again. If you look in the owners manual. Their is a safety mechanism that prevents the car from starting and you get