Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Jeep Commander Start Stall and Idle Problems

Comments

• fanmanfanman Posts: 6
    Reading the TSB, How does ESP premature activation at low idle speed = car dies?
    It has always happened when my wife drives so I cant comment on how difficult braking and steering is. I think its the "Oh Sh*@! - it happened again!" panic factor more than anything else.
    Just picked it up fprm the dealer who says the fix was "flash PCM (Powertrain Control Module) - STAR solution K50951304" and described it as a SW update to prevent the sensor from cutting off oxygen at throtlle and killing the engine. I could not google that fix and have not talked to the tech yet. Any advise where to look to see of this is legit?
  • :sick: Hey guys. I have been reading some blogs & forums on several complaints about Jeep Commanders stalling while driving. I am a Chrysler certified Tech. I have had some of these vehicles with this complaint at our dealership. I am working with our area Tech rep. to help and try to pinpoint the cause of this problem.I would appreciate as much detail as possible about this stalling issue. Please understand that 99% of these complaints usually cannot be duplicated when the customer brings it in.Some of the following questions may seem odd. but please understand that these jeep vehicles have approx 15-20 on board computers. a very complex can bus network. "controller area network". this operates much like your home pc. sometimes the computers lock up and require resetting.
    If you could anwser some of the following questions, I would really appreciate it.

1.Does this happen at any particular vehicle speed ?
    2.Does it happen on accelleration or decelleration ?
    3. What do the instrument panel gauges do when it happens ?
    4. Do any other accessories in the vehicle become inop when it happens? ex: radio, headlamps, turn signals, gauges, etc...