Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ford Ranger III

Comments

• frey44frey44 Posts: 230
    i am not an expert on Rangers. go to the Toyota vs. Ranger posts and a guy named Vince8 likely can give you more detail. here is my humble opinion. both the 3.0 and 4.0 are sound, strong motors. the 3.0 should give you about 1 to 1.5 MPG more, according to reviews i studied [i was trying to make the same decision as you]. i decided upon the 4.0 because i tow bass boats (about 1500 lbs) quite a bit and wanted the torque. also, i wanted a 5 speed auto which Ford only offered in 2000 (at least here in the Midwest) in the 4.0. i think in 2001 you CAN get a 5 speed auto with a 3.0 [should be great for better mileage). ALSO, rearend gearing is a factor. i have the taller ratio (higher gearing), i believe it's 3.53 or thereabouts. many 4x4's come with a 4.11 limited slip rearend. this will increase engine speed (on the highway) and use more gas BUT is better for offroading. the 3.0 is a smoother engine DEFINITELY after driving a number of them. the 4.0 is VERY strong a low rpm, but is somewhat "sluggish", and also very noisy (pushrod noise and knocking...i think it's piston slap). good luck on your decision. either motor should give you many years of good service if you maintain them properly. AND the 4 door cab is GREAT !!
    good luck.
  • 1badsidekick1badsidekick Posts: 135
    Thanks again for all the info! You have been a great help! I will be looking into the ranger more in depth within a week or so!!

Thanks again to all

If anything new comes up, please let me know!
  • bolivarbolivar Posts: 2,316
    4L engine was totally different from earlier years 4L.

Same size, 4L, but earlier years are OverHeadValves and in 2001 it is a OverHeadCam engine.

Horsepower went from about 160 to 205.

With corresponding decrease in milage.