Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Dodge Ram Transmission Problems

Comments

• timb5timb5 Posts: 4
    I don't have a solution for you but it might actually be happening is your torque converter is unlocking. I'm experiencing a similar situation and, after a test drive, was told by a AAMCO service guy, the torque converter is on it's way out.
  • Funny you say that. I called on tranny shop and told them my truck was showing code 740. That's a torque converter lockup issue.They told me I need a need a new trany now, I'm no rocket scientist but I thought that cant be right so I took my truck to another shop they took off the pan and there was almost nothing on the magnet. No sign of clutch material a little very fine metal shavings more like dust really. Had it flushed and new atf 4 installed. They told me I need a new computer. These shops are just trying to make money off of me. I dont need a new computer all I have to do is take it to the dealer to have it flashed. I have done a lot of research on this matter.It could be a number of things causing this problem. Output speed sensor,Governor pressure sensor,Throttle position sensor and I'm sure the list goes on.My local Dodge Dealer told me they replace these thing's on a regular basis because they fail. They told me to make an apt and on that day take my truck on the interstate until it drops out of overdrive then drive it there while it's actually happening so they can hook it up to a computer and find out what is causing it.I was just hoping someone on here would know what sensor or solenoid I should replace first.
  • timb5timb5 Posts: 4