Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

PT Cruiser Electrical and Lighting Problems

Comments

• I don't know yet. My wife has a 2001 with 181,000 miles on it. We use about 1/4th of a quart in 5000 miles at this time.
  • I'm new to this but from what I've seen there's alot of help here so I was wondering if I could get some opinions. I have an suv and really need to get rid of it to save some on gas and was told that pt cruisers were good on gas but the more I see about the transmission and engine problems I'm kinda rethinking it. I want a manual transmission but am I crazy? Should I look for something else?
  • tedebeartedebear Posts: 832
    There are probably better choices if your main reason for replacing your SUV is to save on gas. Our family has a GT Cruiser (the turbo version) and my wife gets around 19-20 mpg as a daily driver - mostly stop and go traffic. I've gotten 26 mpg on the highway with the cruise set on 70 mph. I've read where owners have reported much less and still others who say theirs is much better. The 2008 is rated 21 city / 26 hwy and I'm sure that's with the basic engine and 5-speed manual trans.

If you don't need the space of an SUV the Dodge Caliber is rated 24 city / 29 hwy and the 2008 EPA estimates are fairly close than what those stickers used to be in previous years.

If you want something a bit larger while still getting decent fuel economy there's the Jeep Patriot or the Jeep Compass, both rated at 23 city / 28 hwy.

As far as the transmission problems, you generally won't see anyone take the time to come here and post that their transmission is working fine and that they haven't had any problems with their Cruiser. This is a help forum to share ideas and look for advice, so people who are experiencing problems with their vehicles are more likely to be found here. Sort of like walking into a hospital and wondering why there are so many sick people there. :D