Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Jeep Grand Cherokee Start Stall Idle Problems

Comments

• Again, not being a mechanic, I have to say that you need to get hooked up to a computer to find out what your sensors are saying. Mine was a $70. sensor (retail) that my mech said he installed at his price $168. It was the MAP sensor. Prior to that I had a parts replacement thing going on that eventually came to more than $500.

Watch out for mechs who don't know what's going on and will replace parts at your expense until they eventually hit on the right one. If you know of a "great" mechanic, and is also honest, make sure he is in your last will and testiment...

WillyT
  • I have read this forum exhaustively for an answer and am unable to come to a definitive solution to my problem.

My Jeep starts fine and will run as normal for almost exactly 1/2 mile, then it shuts down and will not re-start...Wait a few hours and this cycle will repeat itself. It will idle all day long.

Further details...

NO CODES
    Good battery
    Good fuel pressure
    Recent Throttle Position Sensor (and I removed and cleaned it)
    Recent plugs, cap, rotor & wires
    Cleaned and tightened all ground connections

What is the most logical diagnostic progression? :confuse:

Coil?
    Idle Air Control Sensor?
    MAP Sensor?
    Crankshaft Position Sensor?
    Powertrain Control Module?
    Something I haven't thought of...?

Any advice is sincerely appreciated....
  • It looks like I need to jump at one of these solutions and see what eventually works. I'll post the answer when found.
  • i just got this jeep drove it home no prob left the dom light on so battery died went to jump start it all my lights started flashing and it will start for about a sec or 2 then die i unplug the alarm so the lights stoped flashing but still wont start any ideas thank you
  • how do you reset the alarm just by unpluging the battery