Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Honda Odyssey Transmission Problems

Comments

• hogan773hogan773 Posts: 255
    your car is 10 yrs old.......do you expect that Honda should do a free warranty for as long as you choose to own a car?
  • lgodfreylgodfrey Posts: 5
    If you had warranty work done on your car and it went out in a 1 1/2 yrs after would you be upset?
  • I'm not an expert, rfreitas, but I think I know my vehicle histories and reputations. In 2004, Honda came out with their 5-speed automatic transmission that eventually was used in all their models. The '04 Odyssey was the first Honda minivan to use this transmission, and their problems dramatically declined. Earlier model Odyssey's, like my 2000, used a 4-speed automatic. I just started reading these message on the Odyssey transmission problems, this evening, and I have to say I'm a bit shocked to find that current-model Odysseys (2007 thru 2009) are apparently experiencing problems again. I thought those demons were long-departed. Apparently not. HOWEVER, good service intervals and rational driving have kept my 2000 EX Odyssey moving without transmission problems ... so far. It has 150,000 miles on it, and I have the transmission serviced every two years - by Honda; nobody else touches it. Keep one thing in mind, though, in shopping for ANY minivan - no other passenger vehicle takes as much stress as a minvan. 4500 pounds heavy; add upwards of 800 pounds of people, plus 100-200 pounds of luggage, and you're asking a LOT from a vehicle, shaped like a truck, but engineered like a car !! ... You just can't treat 'em like a truck, 'cause they ain't ...
  • stickguystickguy Posts: 14,984
    your years are a bit off.