Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

BMW Performance Driving School for the X

2»

Comments

• jrynnjrynn Posts: 162
    So, if I understand you correctly now, you are saying.

"A fulltime professional driver in an X3 can go faster than an amateur driver in an M5."

*Yawn*
  • Well, I thought I said that the first time; and, although I suspect the "amateurs" would bristle at that characterization, considering the investment in driving schools that they have made, you are essentially correct.

The point remains, ability/skill trumps technology in this case.

Moreover, another point is that technology -- at least with respect to the X vs non-X comments made by the instructor -- can make up for amateur's deficiencies.

I am an amateur -- as I suspect most of us posters here are. So I will now consider the merits of a "modern" automatic transmission in a weight balanced AWD sports sedan.

At this stage, it is highly unlikely that I will become a pro driver.

I'll take all the advantages I can afford.

Right now a 335xi (and I might consider one with a stick, if it is still offered) seems to be about the best of all worlds.

Now, however, with a magic wand, an X3 with the same "35" engine and Audi's DSG transmission might be nirvana.
  • div2div2 Posts: 2,580
    ...although I suspect the "amateurs" would bristle at that characterization, considering the investment in driving schools that they have made...

So your opinion of "amateur" driving schools is based on attending one "professional" school?

If I couldn't catch a "professionally driven" X3 with an E46 330i ZHP I'd hang up my helmet and driving gloves.
  • This was my fifth. I didn't say the driving school was amateur, I assumed you were suggesting that the folks in the "advanced" M classes (most of them their on top of multiple previous attendance) were amateurs.