Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Dodge Ram Warning Lights and Trouble Codes

Comments

• crone95crone95 Posts: 1
    I am having the same code and as yet have not gotten a fix yet.Any info would be appreciated and I will post if I find any info on problem.
  • 2002 Dodge 1500 w/4.3 V6. Got check engine light and had the code downloaded at Auto Zone. The guy said it was for a loose or defective gas cap. I purchased a new cap and disconnected the neg battery cable for awhile. Light went away.... but came back and has stayed on. What else might cause this? What can I check? I'm no auto mechanic... could it be something simple?

Any help is appreciated!

Larry B.
  • dustykdustyk Posts: 2,926
    Make sure you have the correct cap. There are two used on the '02 and it will make a difference.

Check the vacuum hoses that go from the fuel tank to the Evaporative Canister. A leak anywhere in the system can cause the same code as a loose or defective gas cap.

Regards,
    Dusty
  • dustykdustyk Posts: 2,926
    Even if the plugs were changed you could still have a bad one. A weak ignition coil or a dirty fuel injector can trip the same code, especially if its intermittent.

Best regards,
    Dusty
  • luckyman1luckyman1 Posts: 29
    my code is p1762 manufacturna control transmission whats this
  • goaliegoalie Posts: 16
    CODE 455 Gross leak in evap. system.....Always starts with the gas cap....because its something they can sell you. Check all of the vacuum/evaporative lines. Start at the gas tank....follow the lineover to the canister...follow those lines up to the underhood canister. Somewhere, there is a broken hose and its leaking in air...and reducing the vauum signal...hence, the trouble code.
  • moparblue2moparblue2 Posts: 86