Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Pontiac Montana Engine Problems

My wife owns a 2000 Montana. The coil pack is bad and needs to be replaced. My question is, how does one get to it? I've heard that the engine needs to be rolled foward to get to the components in the back but I have never figured out how. If it wasn't for that, I would have it fixed by now.
I fix airplanes for a living so I'm quite mechanically inclined. Anyone know how to "roll the engine" or is there something I'm missing? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• flm773flm773 Posts: 1
    Sounds like you need to rotate the engine. Here is info from my '99 shop manual on how to do this:

1. Remove the throttle body air inlet duct.
    2. Set the park brake.
    3. Shift the transaxle into Neutral.
    4. Remove the engine mount strut bolts. Swing the engine mount struts aside (both left and right struts go from the engine to the front of the van).
    5. Install the J41131 (I used a pipe clamp on the engine to the front frame to pull the engine forward toward the radiator).
  • blg1blg1 Posts: 2
    hi i just bought a pontiac montana on dec 20 of 2006 it's has been in the shop since i bought it has engine problems such as low oil pressure it has enough oil and the service engine light kepis coming on the service center at the dealership they can't find out what wrong with it when the check the codes nothing come back with no problem. has anyone had this problem? it's been a nightmare since i got this montana :( :cry: :lemon: :lemon: :lemon:
  • Join the club! Shortly after my first post, I found all my anti-freeze in the oil. Needless to say, it sits in my friend's garage while we take it apart trying to find out if the head blew or just the head gasket. In my research, it is a common problem on the 3.4 liter engines used in many GM makes.