Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Suzuki's US Future -- Good or Dismal

14567810»

Comments

• des5des5 Posts: 88
    I too was considering a Kizashi at one time, but the lack of dealers and no manual models to be had put me off. With Saab, at least there is a decent junkyard stock to draw from if you have to. Imagine trying to get parts for your CVT 5+ years from now.
  • steverstever YooperlandPosts: 39,958
    edited November 2012
    Maybe, but Daewoo owners still seem to be able to find most parts they need.

Need help navigating? stever@edmunds.com - or send a private message by clicking on my name.

• igozoomzoomigozoomzoom Waleska, GeorgiaPosts: 790
    Something that no one thinks about when buying an car from an orphaned brand is INSURANCE! If I wasn't an insurance agent, I wouldn't give it a second thought!

I'm an independent agent and I represent seven companies that offer Personal Auto coverage. Two of them have increased premiums substantially for Comp & Collision on all Saab vehicles...as in 200% or more in some cases! All of our companies have increased their rates somewhat on Saabs, but only 25-30% on average, so far...the same is true for most Saturn and Pontiac models.

Some companies also stopped offering GAP coverage six months before the official 'end'. GAP basically covers the difference when a car depreciates faster than the loan balance decreases. When it was fairly obvious that the end was near for Saab, it became impossible to predict their rate of depreciation.

I'm sure the same will happen to Suzukis, to some extent. On the bright side, at least it only affects the Comp, Collision and Uninsured Motorist rates; Liability and Medical coverage remains the same.