Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Jeep Grand Cherokee Transmission Problems

Comments

• I have a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo that I've been driving for about 4 years, all year-round. Up until the end of last winter, I had no problems driving in most weather conditions, from heavy snow to ice; for the most part I only needed to use the four wheel drive in the worst conditions. However, mid-winter last year, my check engine light came on, and I brought it to the local garage. I found out that I had to get my torque converter replaced, which I did. From around that time, I've noticed that the jeep seems to have a lot more trouble "gaining momentum" from a complete stop, and driving smoothly through relatively docile conditions. Many times, I've come to a stop sign, and tried to slowly start moving again, which always worked in the past, but it still seems to have trouble getting traction (or something; I really don't know much about cars). This includes instances where there is much less than a quarter of an inch of snow, and little or no ice, and cases where it is raining. To my embarrassment, there have been a few times where other cars go by me with ease as I try to get through conditions that I believe I easily could have gotten through in the past. FYI the tires have all been replaced and are of good quality, so I've been assured that it's not likely to be due to worn out tires. I'm planning on asking a local mechanic about this problem soon, but I'd appreciate some second opinions. There have not been any major snow storms since I got the torque converter replaced, but I am worried that the jeep might get stuck even with four wheel drive on, if anything more than a mild storm comes through (and this is new england, so it's expected, although last year we had a VERY mild winter).