Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mazda 3 Tire & Wheel Questions

Comments

• shiposhipo Posts: 9,152
    A couple of "not so much" votes:

The stock Goodyear Eagle RS-As that came on many 17" wheeled versions of the Mazda3: A hard and fast minus (can we rank them really bad, kinda-sorta like "---"?)

While I have no personal experience with them, every report I've read about the Toyo Proxi (sp?) tires seem to be pretty negative as well: Another minus.
  • ahightowerahightower DFWPosts: 431
    My inner tread blocks also wore more quickly due to the negative camber. One shop recommended, if they are not directional tires, to simply have them taken off the wheels and mounted "backwards", so that the inside moves to the outside. Too much trouble to do that regularly, but I may give it a try if I notice the same uneven wear when I've got 15-20K on the current tires.
  • eoghan1eoghan1 Posts: 57
    FWIW While the negative camber on my 2004 hatch is apparent I have not experienced unusual or uneven wear or cupping with the original RSA's(replaced at 35k) or the Michelin Pilot Sport A/S's I am currently running at 58K. Both brands became somewhat slippery in the wet, under acceleration, as they wore down but not to the point of feeling dangerous. I plan to replace two of the Pilots with the Conti's in 10K or so. I test drove the 2010 redesign and found little to encourage me to trade up. At this point I envision driving the 04 for quite a while.
    The Michelin Pilot Sport A/S tires on my Mazda3 are a directional tire that cannot be rotated in the classic sense. I simply swap fronts and rears on each side every fifteen-thousand miles. Were it not for the fact that we get pretty significant winters up here in New Hampshire, I suspect these tires would go an easy sixty-thousand miles before needing replacement.