Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Saturn S-Series Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• I have a 1997 Saturn SL1, manual transmission, with 158,000 miles on it. Until recently I've never really had any probmems with it (except I had to replace the shifter cables last year and it drinks oil a lot now) but lately my check engine light has been coming on and sometimes when I put it into 2nd gear, it really loses power (mostly when the air conditioner is on). I took it to Saturn and they said I have a bad EGR and Calibration (P0404), my O2 sensor is slow (P0133), and I need to replace a cracked coolant temp sensor. They want to charge me $440 for all of this and I don't even know what most of it means! Is there any way I can do this myself to save money? I'm a college student and I REALLY don't want to try to pay that much money. Is it serious enough to have to be fixed immediately? :confuse:
  • 442dude442dude Posts: 373
    Hello saturnlvr....

I was a poor college student once...here's what you're going to do:

1. Replace O2 sensor...p0133 means that your front oxygen sensor is bad...open the hood & look straight down...right behind the fan you'll see something mounted on the exhaust manifold with a wire coming out of it - that's what you need to replace...Autozone has an online manual for S-Series saturns link title
    the sensor should be under $ 50.00

2. EGR valve - follow this link to learn how to clean the EGR valve - that should fix your EGR issue link title

3. Coolant temperature sensor - follow this link to learn how to replace the coolant temp sensor (its sometimes called the "ECTS")link title

By the time you're done you'll probably only be out about $ 100 or less and a little bit of your time...good luck, post back if you need any help...oh and BTW...get used to the drinking oil thing...its part of the Saturn experience... ;)

John