Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Honda Odyssey Snow Traction & Handling

2»

Comments

• sreisssreiss Posts: 65
    If one of your major criteria in buying a vehicle is the ability to move around in snow, I would not buy a minivan. It's not what they are engineered for, in my view. That said, my personal experience is that the Ody is great in snow, but it's not the car I take if it's really coming down and I have to get somewhere. If you have flexibility in when you travel, and put good snow tires on it, and the roads are well maintained in your area, then the Ody is great.

I don't have any personal experience with the Pilot (I assume that's what you are referring to when you say "the SUV"), however I would expect that it would be very good in snow. I have a lot of experience with the CRV, and with good tires, the AWD system (which kicks in when needed and is off otherwise) is very effective. I have been able to move up steep, slippery hills, weaving my way around other stranded cars.
  • bigdadi118bigdadi118 Posts: 1,207
    Ody does not have AWD while the Sienna does. If you live in Buffalo/ Niagara Falls area, Sienna AWD is your better minivan choice. Even AWD you still need snow tires for best handling, faster acceleration and shorter braking distance in snow/ice.
    Example
    Bridgestone Blizzak WS60 (Studless Ice & Snow)
    Aaverage rating.8.3
    Size: 235/65R16
    Sidewall Style: Blackwall
    Serv. Desc: 103R
    Load Index 103 = 1929lbs (875kg) per tire

Minivan ground clearance is not as good as the SUVs, though you don't need to climb in and out of the cabin.
    Speed Rating "R" = 106mph (170kph)
    Price: $105.00 (each)
  • kt5kt5 Posts: 1
    Hi Ya'll,