Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Subaru Forester (up to 2005)

Comments

• ateixeiraateixeira Member Posts: 72,587
    Icing on the cake. You could get 4 oil filters and a bottle of touch-up paint already.

I have almost every accessory in the catalog, it's hilarious. Too many to list, honest.

-juice
  • kayak15kayak15 Member Posts: 4
    I'm not an expert by any means, but I think it could be shutting off because the air in your gas tank is trying to escape as you fill the space with gas and cannot escape from the tank fast enough. The nozzle of the gas pump is filling the hole (and is pumping gas into a fixed amount of space) which restricts the air flow out causing a back pressure. This tricks the pump into thinking the tank is full and it shuts off. Try putting the nozzle in only 1/2 way and a bit of an angle when you first start pumping and once it gets going well push it in the rest of the way. Only putting it in part way leaves a bit of space around the nozzle for air to start moving out. I had the same think happen often with my Mazda and this solution worked well. If you listen, when you take the gas cap off and the amount of gas in the tank is low, you can hear the movement of air as the tank equalizes with the outside air. I think the cap is even marked with a caution. Anyway, give it a try. Someone out there probably can explain it better, but there is no reason to worry about your car.

Scott
    Thanks to Frank, Juice, and any others for your replies. I'll check the net.! As for the card.... I'm busy getting frequent flyer miles on my Alaska Air card. So far we've been to England/Scotland and Hawaii. I'd never heard of Subaru bucks before.

Again, thanks,
    Scott
  • p0926p0926 Member Posts: 4,423