Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ford Escape Mazda Tribute Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• j30j30 Posts: 30
    My 05 owners manual says replace every 150k for schedule one or every 30k for schedule two. That sure is a major difference, 50k sounds like a good interval to me...
  • dc_driverdc_driver Posts: 712
    Ummm. I think they meant every 50K for schedule one. I think flushing or draining every 30K is correct for my area as well (I cannot imagine performing this any earlier). Just make sure they replace with Mercon ATF..

Thanks for pointing that out!
  • snowmansnowman Posts: 540
    Having 30K interval is like playing with fire. For some reason Ford has been giving these unrealistic intervals in manuals. But my experience with Ford cars says differently.

I have 4 years of Ford experience from my X 00 Taurus which has more reliable transmission (with MerconV) than Escape.

During my ownership, I realized that after 16-18K usage, transmission oil was starting to smell gasoline (contamination) and getting darker quickly. So that, I was following 20K/2 years interval. I never had any issue with it.

My advise to you guys, check your oil often and smell it and check its color. Don't wait 30K or 50K or whatever interval you want to follow. If necessary replace it.

It is very easy to replace transmission oil on Escape/Trib line. If you are inclined to replace your engine oil, you can replace our tranny oil as well.
  • lsu79lsu79 Posts: 2
    I bought a 2005 Tribute S last month, and just realized the tailgate does not have a mechanical lock that can be opened with a key. Ordinarily this wouldn't bother me, but the keyless entry broke on my last Ford tailgate, so now I'm concerned, if this one goes out, how does one open the liftgate?
  • baggs32baggs32 Posts: 3,209
    Unlock the driver door with a key and unlock all the other doors with the unlock switch on the door.