Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ford Escape Mazda Tribute Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• jcs_78jcs_78 Posts: 2
    I bought a 2002 Escape last year with 35,000 miles the first week I had it the tranny went out. They had to replace the tourqe converter,the pump and the pump shaft. Now A year and three months later the tranny went out again this time they said it was a valve. :lemon: :mad:
  • rhiannon1rhiannon1 Posts: 6
    This is my first time here and I came to this site to try to find answers that my dealer seems unable to. My 2003 Tribute began having intermittent starting problems a year ago. It's been to the dealer 4 times, they updated software and had to reprogram the keys as that was the error message in the computer. The last 3 times (this one they kept it 7 days!!) there have been no errors noted so they seem unwilling to do anything they say because Mazda will not cover anything they cannot prove.But the dealer also claims this problem went away after a fuel relay problem was dianosed in the 2002's - he claims Mazda has no records of any stalling or starting issues in any newer model. Your posting here contadicts his claims and I thank you - I know I'm not alone now and am looking forward to a spited discusion as soon as they open tomorrow!!!
  • ohbigdogsohbigdogs Posts: 1
    Hi,
    Can someone please give me their advise of what I am up against? I bought a used 2002 escape 4x4 manual transmission and 4 cyl engine It has 22,800 miles on it. It has been a very good vehicle for the last year. This week I noticed it being jerky and lunging as if I was in the wrong gear for the speed I am travelingand the check engine light came on. This only happens when I am using cruise control or slightly accelerating to keep an even speed. It is fine if i am accelerating at about 3k rpm and shifting. The only thing I have done diffrently recently was to fill up with BP gas.