Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Isuzu Trooper

Comments

• Hi, I'm not a pro, but just letting off the gas can unload the torque and make things quieter than under normal driving load. The sound you describe sounds a bit more like gear noise than CV joint noise. CV joints may growl and grumble when going straight ahead when going bad, but they can really make noise and vibrate when making sharp, slow turns. If yours is not exhibiting these characteristics, then you may be able to rule CV joints out.
    THe auto lock hubs only unlock when the trupr is put in to 2 WD AND then it must be backed up at least 8 or 10 feet in order for the hubs to unlock. Some people have to back up even further, depending on the condition of the hubs. You could be hearing the front differential "complaining" about not being able to idle due to the hubs being engaged. If you already know this, and are sure they are unlocked, then it is not uncommon for there to be a bit of gear whine at higher speeds, but I have not heard anyone mention lately that they had anything but transmission problems when talking about "winding down and switching gears". If you can have the ECM checked for any hidden codes, you may find some stored but not illuminating the check engine or malfunction indicator lights. Try a search in this forum for similar problems, you could get some more insight. There are also posts that suggest how to check the computer yourself if you don't live near an Autozone or parts place that will do it for free. Good luck. One owners opinion.