Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Jeep Cherokee

Comments

• mullins87mullins87 Posts: 959
    "dancerman" is right. If you've rebuilt engines 20 years ago, then the 4.0 I6 won't be a problem. Other than the computer and a few sensors, it is an old tech engine. That's why Jeep has quit producing it and why I LOVE it. I am rebuilding one now, well I'm doing a little bit at a time as I get the money. I've never done this before, but when I pulled it apart, I was amazed at how simple and straight forward this engine is! You can buy COMPLETE rebuild kits in the $500-$600 range. Those kits include everything except the head assembly, crank, block, water pump, distributor, exhaust manifold and intake assembly. Basically ALL the rotating parts.

I'd also recommend the Haynes or Chiltons manuals. That are available at any discount auto parts stores for around $20. A factory service manual is the way to go, but those are considerably more. Since you have experience, the cheaper manual may be all you need. Really all you'll need are the tolerances and torque specs anyway.
  • riverbugzriverbugz Posts: 5